Weather Related Closings and Snow Emergencies



Arlington Public--Closed

Atlantic Public--Closed

Bennington Public--Closed

Bishop Neumann: 9am Start

Blair Schools: Closed

Charter Oak-Ute--2 Hours Late

Douglas County West Schools--Closed


Logan Magnolia CSD--Closed

Riverside Public--Closed


Treynor Community--Closed

Tricenter Schools, Neola, Iowa--Closed

Underwood Public--Closed

Wahoo Bishop Neumann--9AM Start

Walnut CSD--Closed


Archbishop Bergan Catholic School

Bishop Neumann

Blair Public Schools

Blair HeadStart

Bellevue Public Schools

Bellevue Christian Academy

Bellevue Christian Center

Bennington Public Schools

Brownell-Talbot School

Capitol School of Hair Design

Clarkson College

Council Bluffs Public Schools

Concordia Junior/Senior High School

Douglas County West Schools

East Mills

Elkhorn Public Schools

First Lutheran School in Fremont

Griswold Community School

Good Shepard Lutheran School

Harlan Community Schools: 2 hour late start

JTL Truck Driver Training

Kaplan University Omaha and Council Bluffs: 10 a.m. start

Lewis Central Schools in Council Bluffs

Lincoln Public Schools

Louisville Public Schools

Logan-Magnolia Community Schools

Metropolitan Community College

Millard Public Schools

Mount Calvary Lutheran Schools

Omaha Public Schools

Omaha Christian Academy

Omaha Street School

Papillion La-Vista Public Schools

Plattsmouth Community Schools. Head Start, and St. John the Baptist Catholic School

Phoenix Academy

Red Oak

Tri-Center Community Schools

Trinity Lutheran School

Sarpy County Head Start

Shenandoah CSD

St. Albert's School

St. Mary in Bellevue

St. Mathews in Bellevue

St. Patrick's Catholic School

Sword of the Spirit Christian School

Ralston Public Schools

Vatterott College

UNO Campus will be closed until 10 a.m.

Walnut Community Schools

Weeping Water Schools

West Harrison, IA Schools

Westside Community Schools

Woodbine Community Schools


COUNCIL BLUFFS: The City of Council Bluffs. 6:00 PM Wednesday until 6:00 PM on Thursday The Emergency Parking Ban applies to all streets posted as snow emergency routes by the City of Council Bluffs. During a Snow Emergency Parking Ban cars are subject to a fine and/or towing at the owners expense. There will be Mandatory Even/Odd Parking Ban for Snow Removal effective at 6:00 AM Thursday December 20, 2012 the ban will begin with parking allowed on the EVEN numbered addressed side of the street only. On Friday December 21, 2012 at 12:00 AM (Midnight) the parking ban will begin with parking allowed on ODD numbered addressed side of the street only. The ban will remain in effect until 5:00PM Friday December 21, 2012. During the even/odd parking ban No Parking Will be Allowed in Cul-de-sacs until the snow has been plowed from the cul-de-sac. During a Snow Even/Odd Parking Ban cars are subject to a fine and/or towing at the owners expense.

OMAHA: Starting at midnight. Public Works is pre-treating residential streets with a liquid application designed to aid the melting process. The Department of Public Works and local contractors will deploy up to 200 plows to support snow removal efforts.

The City of Omaha will be enforcing the odd/even snow emergency parking regulations. During a snow emergency, parking is permitted on the odd-numbered side of the street on odd-numbered calendar days and on the even side of the street on even-numbered calendar days. As the Snow Emergency will officially go into effect midnight December 20th, vehicles must be parked on the even-numbered side of the street. Vehicles found in violation of snow emergency parking regulations will be ticketed, starting at noon tomorrow. These regulations apply only to residential streets in neighborhoods east of 72nd Street. It is also important to note that during snow emergencies, both sides of designated emergency snow routes must be cleared of vehicles.

Citizens can visit and click the snow button for more information on snow emergency policies. Those with smart phones may also download the Omaha Mobile App. This app allows citizens to snap and submit photos of snow-related concerns, and other problems, directly to the City of Omaha. This application is available free of charge via the iTunes or Google Play Store.

Requests for sand barrels, snow removal, and snow operations information may be directed to the Omaha Street Maintenance Division at 444-4919.

LINCOLN: Beginning at 8 p.m. At that time, parking will be banned on emergency snow routes, bus routes and other major arterial streets. A map showing these routes can be found on the City website at (keyword: snow) and in the blue pages of your phone directory. A residential parking ban will go into effect at 8 a.m. Thursday morning. At that time, parking will be banned on the even numbered sides of the streets - the north and east sides. This affects all City streets that are not arterials or bus routes, and the parking ban remains in effect until terminated by the Mayor. If you have questions, you may call the Public Works Snow Center at 402-441-7644.


PAPILLION: Starting at 5:00 p.m. until Thursday, December 20 at 5:00 p.m. Papillion residents are asked to not park their vehicles on the street. This will make it safer and more effective for equipment to clear snow from the streets. Residents are asked to avoid traveling during the snow emergency. Those who must travel are asked to use caution around snow removal equipment and personnel. City ordinance also states that the sidewalks be cleared within five hours after a snowfall or by 8:30 a.m. if the snow happens overnight. Residents with a fire hydrant near their property are asked to take an extra minute or two to ensure that it is cleared and visible. Residents with questions about the snow emergency can log on to the City's website - for more information, or call the Mayor's Hotline (402) 827-1111. City residents with questions or concerns about snow removal can call the Public Works Department at (402) 597-2043.

YUTAN: 4pm Wednesday until 4pm Thursday.All vehicles must be removed from any public streets within the city. All violators will be subject to tow

BLAIR: Mayor Jim Realph has issued a Snow Emergency for the City of Blair effective 8:00 p.m. Wednesday, December 19, 2012 until 10:00 p.m., Thursday, December 20, 2012. During a snow emergency declaration, the City Code prohibits vehicles from being parked on City Streets for 48 hours after the snow fall ends or until all accumulated snow has been removed from the streets. THE ONLY AREA EXEMPTED IS THE DOWNTOWN AREA WHICH IS GOVERNED BY NO PARKING FROM 2:00 A.M. TO 5:00 A.M. All vehicles parked on city streets during this time shall be subject to being towed at the owner's expense.

GRETNA: The Mayor of Gretna has called a snow emergency in Gretna beginning at 5:00 p.m. on Wednesday, December 19, 2012 and ending at 5:00 p.m. on Thursday, December 20, 2012. The intention of a snow of a snow emergency is to facilitate the removal of snow and ice from Gretna City streets thereby it is unlawful for any automobile to be parked on any public street within the City for the designated timeframe.

ARLINGTON: The town of Arlington will be issuing a snow emergency from December 19, 2012 at 3:00 PM to Thursday, December 20, 2012 at 5:00 PM.

VALLEY: The town of Valley will be issuing a snow emergency from December 19, 2012 at 6:00 PM to December 20, 2012 at 12:00 PM.

WATERLOO: The village of Waterloo has issued a snow emergency from December 19, 2012 at 6:00 PM to December 20, 2012 at 6:00 PM.

LA VISTA: The City of La Vista has declared a snow emergency effective at 10 p.m. today. Please remove all vehicles from the street to allow safe passage for snow crews. In addition, La Vista City Hall, Community Center and Public Library will open at noon on Thursday, December 20.